27 Commissioners nominated


With Neelie Kroes (NL), Connie Hedegaard (DK) and John Dalli (MT) on Tuesday being nominated to the Commission, Mr. Barroso will now be able to start his distribution of portfolios. The Commission will then be up for the approval of the European Parliament, a process that probably will begin in Januar.

Looking at the 27 names, I am glad there are more women – nine in total – on the list than five years ago. With one of them being Catherine Ashton, who is up for the influential post as High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy, it is pleasing that the EU is making progress in the area of gender equality.

You will find the full list here.

%d bloggers like this: